Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Migraine City!

Migraines are my life right now...it is sad but true. I am trying to think of good ways to combat my migraines. I have come to the conclusion that I am truely and utterly disabled by these headaches, so I must make it my goal to prevent as many as possible.

I have a new neurologist, who I completely adore. He is the first person to really sit down and explain migraines to me in detail. Additionally, he really took time to explain why I have constant migraine pain, instead of the normal occasional migraines. It is really amazing to have a great doctor to work with on this.

Additionally, I think the green smoothie thing is working a bit. I am having about an hour or so of pain free time a day. I am hoping that this time in the morning will help me propel myself to the gym.

Exercise is supposed to help migraines substantially. I also am trying to set up a sleep schedule, but it is so tempting to stay up late, and sleep in on weekends. URGH! I guess reduced pain is worth it though.

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Strange new territory...

So I am doing three new things this week to spice up my normal existence:
  1. Daily Green Smoothies (sounds gross, but completely delightful)
  2. Tweeting on a regular basis (usually 2 or 3 times a day)
  3. Attempting to go to the gym (not really that new, and not really making it :P)
As self improvement ventures go, I am pretty impressed with my smoothie commitment. Green smoothies are a revelation; I am not tired at work (HUGE) and randomly loosing weight. I am really surprised because they really taste good, I will have to admit that when I blended up the first one I though "YUCK!!!" I am totally hopping on the bandwagon now.

Tweeting...hmmm. I am not really sure if I think this is an improvement or just a new way to procrastinate. I am meeting some cool people, which is nice. I seriously will have to keep an eye on the time spent on this, it has the potential to completely consume my day.

Lastly, going to the gym everyday, really who am I kidding! A girl has to have a dream. I swear tomorrow is going to be the day, I have my alarm set, bag packed and I even downloaded a work out. I just have to convince my 5:45am self that I can do it.

Monday, March 2, 2009

Meaningful Work

I don't know about you, but I find studying incredibly hard. Somehow I just can't seem to make myself sit down and focus. For instance, right now I am writing this post instead of preparing for my midterm on Wednesday.

I have friends that can sit for hours and study, I mean really get things done. I envy them.

I have often thought, "I want to be great at something...not just ok, great!" Malcolm Gladwell said at the recent Dreamforce Conference that greatness, "...is the result of putting your heart and mind into something to create successful, meaningful work." If this is true it is very possible that I am missing out on my chance to be great, because I am not disciplined.

Over and over, I see myself become consumed with a new interest. I try to gather every bit of information on it, only to fizzle out and end up in the same place. How do I make that transition into the disciplined person I want to be?